top of page

About TMT, Inc.


Name: TMT Observatory Corporation


Address: 1111 S Arroyo Pkwy #200, Pasadena, CA 91105


Phone:(626) 395-1619


Status: 501(c)3 Nonprofit Corporation


Partners: California Institute of Technology, the University of California, and the Association of Canadian Universities for Research in Astronomy, joined by the National Astronomical Observatory of Japan, the National Astronomical Observatories of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, and the Department of Science and Technology of India.


Documents (includes financial statements and tech information):







Henry T. Yang
(805) 893-2231


Executive Director of TIO

  • Ed Stone(ex officio)
    David Morrisroe Professor of Physics
    Vice Provost for Special Projects

California Institute of Technology

  • Dean Currie
    Vice President for Business and Finance

  • Shrinivas R. (Shri) Kulkarni
    John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Professor of Astronomy and Planetary Science;
    Director, Caltech Optical Observatories

  • Fiona Harrison
    Benjamin M. Rosen Professor of Physics and Astronomy;
    Chair, Division of Physics, Mathematics and Astronomy


  • Ray Carlberg
    Professor, University of Toronto

  • Greg Fahlman
    General Manager,
    NRC Herzberg Astronomy and Astrophysics

  • Ernie Seaquist
    Professor Emeritus, University of Toronto


  • Mao Shude
    Professor of Astrophysics, National Astronomical Observatories of Chinese Academy of Sciences and University of Manchester
    Project Scientist, TMT-China

  • Xue Suijian
    Assistant Director-General, National Astronomical Observatories of Chinese Academy of Sciences
    Project Manager, TMT-China

  • Zhao Gang
    Professor of Astrophysics, National Astronomical Observatories of Chinese Academy of Sciences
    Board Director, TMT-China



  • Dr. Praveer Asthana
    Scientist-G and Head, Mega Science Programme, Department of Science & Technology, New Delhi
    The Department of Science and Technology, Government of India

  • B. Eswar Reddy
    Programme Director, India TMT Coordination Center, Bengaluru


  • Masanori Iye (Vice Chair)
    Professor, National Astronomical Observatory of Japan
    Project Director, TMT-Japan

  • Tomonori Usuda
    Researcher, National Astronomical Observatory of Japan

  • Toru Yamada
    Professor at the Astronomical Institute, Tohoku University

University of California

  • Michael Bolte
    Associate Director for the Thirty-Meter Telescope Project, University of California Observatories
    Professor of Astronomy and Astrophysics, UC Santa Cruz

  • Nathan Brostrom (Treasurer)
    Executive Vice President, Business Operations, UC

  • Henry T. Yang (Chair)
    Chancellor, UC Santa Barbara

Board Secretary

  • Diana Jergovic
    Vice President for Strategy Implementation, California Institute of Technology






















in all things

We DO NOT condone hate, violence or vengance in ANY FORM.  These forces are a weakness and damaging to the ALOHA we firmly uphold.  Please check yourself before engaging in communication with anyone.

Protect Mauna Kea

bottom of page