June 3, 2019

November 4, 2018

Please reload

Recent Posts

My Temple, My Mountain

June 5, 2015

Please reload

Featured Posts

Mauna Kea and Thirty Meter Telescope to be discussed in public forums

May 15, 2015



The Hilo-Hamakua Community Development Corporation is presenting a series of four events for the Hawaii Island community about Mauna Kea and the Thirty Meter Telescope.

Board member Judi Steinman said that “all points of view will be presented as an education to hear all sides and for people to formulate their own opinion. We’ve met with the cultural practitioners who will be speaking at the events, and they’re embracing the opportunity to learn more from one another.”

She said one of the districts the Hilo-Hamakua Community Development Corporation represents “is the entire northeast foothill of Mauna Kea. … With all the controversy, misinformation and miscommunication that has surrounded this issue, we thought it was important to talk with each other instead of at each other.”


The current schedule and list of speakers are as follows:


Tuesday, May 19
LOCATION: Laupahoehoe Community Public Charter School Cafeteria
SPEAKERS: Lanakila – Cultural Perspective
Paul Coleman – Science
Stephanie Nagata – Office of Mauna Kea Management Process


Wednesday, May 27
LOCATION: Kulaimano Community Center, Pepe`ekeo
SPEAKERS: Paul Neves – Cultural and Historical Perspective
Sandra Dawson – Thirty Meter Telescope Process
Peter Adler – Sacred Spaces


Tuesday, June 2
LOCATION: Laupahoehoe Community Public Charter School Cafeteria
SPEAKERS: Hualalai Keohuloa – Cultural Perspective
Wallace Ishibashi- Security and Safety at Cultural Sites
Paul Brewbaker- Economy


Tuesday, June 9
LOCATION: Laupahoehoe Community Public Charter School Cafeteria
SPEAKERS: Richard Ha – Hawai`i Island’s Future
Art Kimura – Robotics
Jesse Eiben – Entomologist
Doug Simons – Observatory Science


All events will be held from 6:30-9 p.m. Light refreshments will be provided.

The HHCDC President is Donna Johnson (hhcdc.org@gmail.com or 895-1907). Board members include Steinman, Colleen Aina, Glenn Carvalho, Gerald DeMello, Richard Ha, Jason Moniz and Eric Weinert.

Please reload

Follow Us